Pricing
How much does accounting software cost?
What small businesses pay for accounting software, added up over three years for three example businesses, with every add-on in the math and a date on every price.
The short answer
Entry-level paid plans cost $19 to $65 a month at US list price as of October 30, 2026, and the top plans reach $340 to $360.
The plan price is only part of the bill. On QuickBooks® Online, a fourth login moves you up a whole plan. On Xero™, users are unlimited but payroll is extra.
QuickBooks is a registered trademark of Intuit Inc. Xero is a trademark of Xero Limited. This comparison is independent and is not sponsored, endorsed, or approved by Intuit or Xero.
On this page
What does accounting software cost a month?
Each vendor’s own pricing page listed these prices on October 30, 2026. They are US list prices, billed monthly, before promotions and before tax. Products are in no particular order. QuickBooks, Xero, FreshBooks and Wave were also running discounts for the first few months. The prices here are what you pay once a discount ends.
Entry plans run from $19 a month (Wave Pro) to $65 (Digits Essentials), and three of the seven, Wave, Zoho Books and QuickBooks Online, also have a free plan.
| Product | Free plan | Paid plans, list price a month (USD) | Users |
|---|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks Online | Yes: 1 user, 2 invoices a month | Simple Start $38, Essentials $85, Plus $140, Advanced $340 | 1, 3, 5 or 25, plus 2 or 3 accountants |
| Xero | No | Early $27, Growing $59, Established $97 | Unlimited |
| FreshBooks | No | Lite $23, Plus $43, Premium $70 (10% off billed yearly) | You, then $11 a month per team member |
| Wave | Yes: Starter | Pro $19, or $190 a year | Priced per business, not per owner |
| Zoho Books | Yes: under $50,000 revenue a year | Standard $20, Professional $50, Premium $70, Elite $150, Ultimate $275 ($15 to $240 billed yearly) | 3 to 15 by plan, then $3 a month each |
| Digits | No | Essentials $65, Core $100 | Not priced per user |
| Puzzle | No | Starter $30, Core $72, Complete $120, Scale $360 ($25 to $300 billed yearly) | 1, 5 or unlimited seats |
For QuickBooks Online’s plan limits and how its prices changed in August 2026, see QuickBooks Online pricing in 2026. A monthly price doesn’t tell you much on its own. What you pay depends on how many people log in and whether you run payroll. It also depends on how your customers pay you. The next sections add it up for three example businesses.
What does a one-person business pay over three years?
A one-person service business with no employees or inventory pays $570 to $2,340 for three years of accounting software, at US list prices on October 30, 2026, paying the cheapest way each vendor offers.
Here’s the business. You send about 10 invoices a month to more than five clients. You enter about 8 bills a month and pay them later. You have one bank account and one card, and you want their transactions to come in on their own. Your accountant looks at the books at tax time. Revenue is over $50,000 a year. No employees, no inventory.
For each product we picked the cheapest plan on its own pricing page that fits. Prices are held at the October 30, 2026 list for all 36 months. In the price history further down, eight of ten plans did not stay put.
| Product | Plan that fits, a month (USD) | 3 years, billed monthly (USD) | 3 years, billed yearly (USD) | Why that plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks Online | Simple Start, $38 | $1,368 | Monthly only | Cheapest plan that lists bill pay |
| Xero | Growing, $59 | $2,124 | Monthly only | Early allows 5 bills; this business has about 8 |
| FreshBooks | Premium, $70 ($63 billed yearly) | $2,520 | $2,268 | Accounts payable starts on Premium |
| Wave | Pro, $19 ($190 a year) | $684 | $570 | Starter doesn’t bring in bank transactions on its own |
| Zoho Books | Professional, $50 ($40 billed yearly) | $1,800 | $1,440 | Zoho counts bills from Professional up |
| Digits | Essentials, $65 | $2,340 | Monthly only | Lowest plan; Bill Pay is on every plan |
The gap comes from what each vendor puts on its lowest plan. Change the counts and the answer changes. With 5 or fewer bills, Xero Early fits at $27 a month, $972 over three years. If you pay each bill as it comes in, FreshBooks Plus fits at $43 ($38.70 billed yearly), and Zoho Books Standard at $20 ($15 billed yearly).
The free and entry plans stop short in other ways. FreshBooks Lite, at $23, bills up to 5 clients and doesn’t list accountant access. Zoho’s Free plan stops at $50,000 of revenue a year. QuickBooks Online’s Free plan has no accountant access, allows 2 invoices a month and connects 1 bank account.
Puzzle isn’t in the table because its pricing page lists no bills on any plan. If you pay bills as they come in, Starter is $900 to $1,080 over three years. It has one seat, and Puzzle’s page doesn’t say whether your accountant needs one.
Are card and bank fees part of the cost?
They are, and in the one-person example they are the biggest part of the bill. Say that business collects $5,000 a month on five $1,000 invoices. Each processor’s own page listed these rates on October 30, 2026.
At Stripe’s standard card rate, that comes to $5,274 in card fees over three years, more than any plan above. By bank, it is $900.
| Who processes it | Card rate | Card fees, 3 years (USD) | Bank rate | Bank fees, 3 years (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe, used directly | 2.9% + 30¢ | $5,274 | 0.8%, capped at $5 | $900 |
| QuickBooks Payments | 2.99% (invoice or online) | $5,382 | 1% | $1,800 |
| Xero, through Stripe | 2.9% + 30¢ | $5,274 | 0.5%, capped at $5, by bank transfer; 1%, capped at $9, by ACH debit | $900 or $1,620 |
| FreshBooks | 2.9% + 30¢ | $5,274 | 1% | $1,800 |
| Wave Starter | 2.9% + 60¢ | $5,328 | Not listed on the pricing page | Not listed |
| Wave Pro | 2.9% for your first 10 a month, then 2.9% + 60¢ | $5,220 | Not listed on the pricing page | Not listed |
Paying by bank instead of card saves $4,374, more than the $1,770 between the cheapest and the most expensive software above. A cap on bank fees matters most on big invoices: on a $1,000 invoice, 1% is $10, and 0.8% capped at $5 is $5. Software that passes Stripe’s standard rate through costs the same as Stripe used directly.
What does a five-person team with payroll pay?
A service business with five employees on payroll and four logins pays $2,574 to $8,100 over three years for accounting software and payroll, at US list prices on October 30, 2026, paying the cheapest way each vendor offers.
The five employees are paid twice a month in one state. Four people need logins: the owner, an office manager and two team leads. An outside accountant does the taxes. No inventory.
| Product | Software a month (USD) | Payroll a month (USD) | 3 years, billed monthly (USD) | 3 years, yearly where offered (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks Online | Plus, $140 | Workforce Payroll, added to the plan: $50 + 5 × $7 = $85 | $8,100 | Monthly only |
| QuickBooks Online, Premium payroll bundle | Inside the bundle price | Workforce Premium with Plus: $203 + 5 × $10 = $253 | $9,108 | Monthly only |
| Xero | Growing, $59 | Xero Payroll, powered by Gusto: $36 + 5 × $6 = $66 | $4,500 | Monthly only |
| FreshBooks | Plus $43 + 3 team members × $11 = $76 (Plus $38.70 billed yearly) | FreshBooks Payroll: $40 + 5 × $6 = $70 | $5,256 | $5,101.20 |
| Wave | Pro, $19 ($190 a year) | Wave Payroll: $40 + 5 × $6 = $70 | $3,204 | $3,090 |
| Zoho Books | Standard $20 + 1 extra user $3 = $23 ($17.50 billed yearly) | Zoho Payroll Standard: $39 + 5 × $6 = $69 ($29 + 5 × $5 = $54 billed yearly) | $3,312 | $2,574 |
| Digits | Essentials, $65 | Gusto Simple: $49 + 5 × $6 = $79 | $5,184 | Monthly only |
| Puzzle | Complete, $120 ($100 billed yearly) | Gusto Simple: $49 + 5 × $6 = $79 | $7,164 | $6,444 |
| Puzzle, with its own payroll | Complete, $120 ($100 billed yearly) | Puzzle Payroll: 5 × $49 = $245 (5-employee minimum) | $13,140 | $12,420 |
Digits doesn’t run payroll; it connects to a payroll provider. So the table pairs Digits and Puzzle with Gusto’s Simple plan. Gusto alone for this team is $2,844 over three years. Puzzle also sells its own payroll, shown on its own row. On Xero, Wave, Zoho Books and Digits, payroll costs more each month than the software.
Puzzle’s page says Core is for businesses with up to $10,000 a month in expenses. A five-person payroll is likely above that, so the table uses Complete. Under that line, Core with Gusto comes to $5,436 over three years billed monthly, or $5,004 with Core billed yearly.
Watch the login count. With three logins, this business fits QuickBooks Online Essentials ($85) with Workforce Payroll added ($85), which is $170 a month. The fourth login forces Plus, which comes to $225 a month. That is $55 more a month, or $1,980 over three years. On Xero the fourth login costs nothing, and on FreshBooks it costs $11 a month.
One thing to check on Zoho Books: its pricing page says the Free plan includes an accountant but doesn’t say whether your accountant takes one of a paid plan’s seats. If it does, add one more user at $3 a month.
What if you sell products and run a second company?
A product business that tracks stock, plus a small second company that owns its building, pays $1,980 to $5,868 over three years for both, at US list prices on October 30, 2026, on the three products whose pricing pages list inventory.
The third business sells physical goods and tracks its stock. Three people log in. The owner also has a second company that owns the building, with one login and a handful of transactions a month. The same accountant handles both. To keep the math simple, there’s no payroll here; add the payroll figures above if you have staff.
| Product | Company 1, with inventory, a month (USD) | Company 2, a month (USD) | 3 years, billed monthly (USD) | 3 years, billed yearly (USD) | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks Online | Essentials $85 + $40 inventory add-on = $125 | Simple Start, $38 | $5,868 | Monthly only | Each company is its own subscription |
| Xero | Growing, $59 | Early, $27 | $3,096 | Monthly only | Inventory at average cost on every plan; no combined reports |
| Zoho Books | Professional, $50 ($40 billed yearly) | Standard, $20 ($15 billed yearly) | $2,520 | $1,980 | Professional is Zoho’s first plan with inventory |
Each line has a cheaper or different path. On QuickBooks Online, Plus for the first company instead of the add-on comes to $178 a month, $6,408 over three years. On Zoho Books, if the second company stays under $50,000 of revenue a year, the Free plan covers it, and the total is $1,800 over three years, billed monthly. On Xero, Early’s 20 invoices and 5 bills are too few for the first company.
Xero’s plans don’t combine organizations into one set of reports, and Xero says that isn’t planned; Syft Analytics, a separate product in Xero’s app store, does it. Xero began phasing out its multi-organization discount on October 1, 2026.
FreshBooks, Wave, Digits and Puzzle are left out because their pricing pages list no inventory tracking. Digits would carry the second company free: it says extra entities cost nothing up to 250 transactions a year, then start at $35 a month. For a business that doesn’t track stock, that saves a second subscription.
What costs extra on top of the plan?
The three examples run into most of the add-ons. They are in one place below, from each vendor’s own pages on October 30, 2026. Xero charges nothing for more users or for your accountant; on QuickBooks Online, more users means the next plan.
| Product | More users | Your accountant | Payroll | Another company |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks Online | Move up a plan | 2 accountant users on paid plans (3 on Advanced), none on Free | $50 + $7 per employee, or in a bundle from $88 + $6.50 | Its own subscription |
| Xero | No charge | No charge | $36 + $6 per person, powered by Gusto | Its own subscription |
| FreshBooks | $11 a month each | Plus and up | $40 + $6 per person | Its own subscription, under the same login |
| Wave | User roles on Pro | Block Advisors tax pro role free; other roles need Pro | $40 + $6 per employee + $6 per contractor paid | Priced per business |
| Zoho Books | $3 a month each ($2.50 billed yearly) | 1 included on Free; not stated for paid plans | $39 + $6 per employee ($29 + $5 billed yearly) | Priced per organization |
| Digits | Not priced per user | Not priced per user | Connects to a payroll provider | Extra entity free to 250 transactions a year, then from $35 a month |
| Puzzle | Next plan up (1, 5 or unlimited seats) | Not stated on its pricing page | From $49 per employee, 5-employee minimum | Multi-entity through an integration, Core and up (no price listed) |
Inventory is the other common add-on. QuickBooks Online charges $40 a month for it on Simple Start and Essentials, under Intuit’s January 2026 product update, and includes it on Plus and Advanced. Xero tracks inventory on every plan. Zoho starts it on Professional. Xero’s Early plan also charges $5 a month to reconcile bank lines automatically.
How much have accounting software prices gone up?
The three-year totals assume today’s prices hold. The table below shows the same plans in October 2023 and October 2025, from each vendor’s pricing page as the Internet Archive saved it. The last price is the live page on October 30, 2026 (QuickBooks: October 30, 2026).
Eight of the ten plans cost more in October 2026 than in October 2023. Xero Early rose the most in percentage terms, 80%, from $15 a month to $27.
| Plan | October 2023 (USD a month) | October 2025 (USD a month) | October 2026 (USD a month) | Change since 2023 | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| QuickBooks Online Essentials | $60 | $75 | $85 | +42% | Intuit’s pricing page, archived and live |
| QuickBooks Online Plus | $90 | $115 | $140 | +56% | Intuit’s pricing page, archived and live |
| Xero Early | $15 | $25 | $27 | +80% | Xero’s pricing page, archived and live |
| Xero Growing | $42 | $55 | $59 | +40% | Xero’s pricing page, archived and live |
| Xero Established | $78 | $90 | $97 | +24% | Xero’s pricing page, archived and live |
| FreshBooks Lite | $17 | $21 | $23 | +35% | FreshBooks’ pricing page, archived and live |
| FreshBooks Plus | $30 | $38 | $43 | +43% | FreshBooks’ pricing page, archived and live |
| FreshBooks Premium | $55 | $65 | $70 | +27% | FreshBooks’ pricing page, archived and live |
| Zoho Books Standard, billed yearly | $15 | $15 | $15 | No change | Zoho’s pricing page, archived and live |
| Zoho Books Professional, billed yearly | $40 | $40 | $40 | No change | Zoho’s pricing page, archived and live |
| Wave Pro | No paid plan listed | $19 | $19 | No change since 2025 | Wave’s pricing page, archived and live |
Xero’s plans have unlimited users, though, so a growing team doesn’t pay more per person. Zoho kept its yearly prices the same for all three years. QuickBooks Online Simple Start didn’t change in August 2026 when Essentials, Plus and Advanced did. Xero’s latest prices took effect on October 1, 2026, for new and existing US subscribers. Two October snapshots miss anything that happened in between.
Digits and Puzzle are left out because their plans were renamed or restructured over the period, so no row compares like with like. Digits’ Core plan was $100 in November 2025 and is $100 today.
Is free accounting software worth it?
It can be, for the right business. Three of the seven vendors here had a free plan on October 30, 2026. Each one is free up to a line, and the line is different for each.
| Free plan | What you get | Where it stops |
|---|---|---|
| Wave Starter | Unlimited invoices, bills and bookkeeping | No automatic bank import or auto-categorization |
| Zoho Books Free | 1 user plus 1 accountant, up to 1,000 invoices a year | Revenue of $50,000 a year. Bank feeds start on Standard |
| QuickBooks Online Free | 1 user, 1 bank account, 3 reports | 2 invoices a month; no accountant access |
Each line has fine print. QuickBooks Online Free allows unlimited invoices if you turn on QuickBooks Payments, and it has no mobile app or integrations. Wave Starter charges 2.9% + 60¢ on each card payment.
Free works for a one-person business that stays inside a free plan’s limits. It stops working at the first employee, or when you hit a free plan’s own line: no accountant login on QuickBooks Free, no automatic bank import on Wave Starter, $50,000 of revenue on Zoho Books Free. Payment fees apply on every free plan.
On Wave, the fee difference between the two plans is small. For the one-person example, Starter’s card fees are $148 a month and Pro’s are $145. So the $19 for Pro buys the bank import and the auto-categorization, not cheaper payments.
Free plans change, too. In October 2023, Wave’s pricing page listed accounting, invoicing and banking at $0, with receipt scanning as an $8 add-on and no paid plan. Today bank import is on Pro. Check what a free plan includes now, and what you would do if it changed. If you’re still deciding whether you need software at all, start with do I need accounting software?
How do you keep the bill down?
- Count the people who need a login before you pick a plan. On a product with seat caps, one more person can mean the next plan.
- Compare list prices, not the first three months. The promotion ends, and the list price is what you pay for years.
- Pay yearly where it’s offered. Zoho Standard drops from $20 to $15 a month, and Wave Pro from $228 to $190 a year.
- Ask customers to pay by bank. In the one-person example, that saves more than any change of software.
- Ask any vendor what it has changed and when. Five plans in the price history above rose 40% or more in three years.
Price is one test among several. The others, like what your accountant can see and how you get your data out, are in how to choose accounting software. And if you’re weighing software against paying someone, see how much a bookkeeper costs.
Where does Imprest fit?
Each Imprest plan is a flat price, and your accountant’s seat is free on every plan. Starter is for you plus your accountant; Pro and Scaling have no per-seat fee. Payroll runs in a Gusto account you pay Gusto for, and Imprest books each run. Card and bank payments cost only Stripe’s own rate; Imprest adds nothing on top. Every plan starts with a 30-day free trial with no credit card.
On the published plans, bills you enter now and pay later are on Pro, and inventory starts on Pro. You can run each business as its own company under one login, each on its own plan, or, on Scaling, keep several legal entities inside one company for that one plan’s price, each with its own books and one combined set of reports. You turn that on in the company’s Settings. Current prices, and a calculator that compares Imprest with QuickBooks Online and Desktop for your team size, are on the pricing page. The calculator doesn’t show on phones.
Frequently asked questions
How much does accounting software cost a month?
Entry-level paid plans cost $19 to $65 a month at US list price (each vendor’s pricing page, October 30, 2026): Wave Pro $19, Zoho Books Standard $20 ($15 billed yearly), FreshBooks Lite $23, Xero Early $27, Puzzle Starter $30, QuickBooks Online Simple Start $38 and Digits Essentials $65. The top plans reach $340 (QuickBooks Online Advanced) and $360 (Puzzle Scale).
What are the hidden costs of accounting software?
Extra users, payroll, payment fees, a second company and add-ons like inventory. A fourth login moves QuickBooks Online from Essentials to Plus. Payroll add-ons on the products here run $29 to $50 a month plus $5 to $7 per employee. In our one-person example, three years of card fees at 2.9% + 30¢ cost more than any plan.
Is it cheaper to pay for accounting software yearly?
Where it’s offered, yes. Zoho Books Standard is $15 a month billed yearly instead of $20. Wave Pro is $190 a year instead of $228. FreshBooks takes 10% off. Puzzle Starter is $25 a month instead of $30. QuickBooks Online, Xero and Digits list monthly prices only (October 30, 2026).
Does accounting software go up in price?
Eight of the ten plans we tracked cost more in October 2026 than in October 2023. Xero Early went from $15 a month to $27, and QuickBooks Online Plus from $90 to $140. Zoho Books kept its yearly prices for Standard and Professional the same for all three years.
Is free accounting software good enough?
For a one-person business that stays inside the free plan’s limits, it can be. It stops working at the first employee, or when you hit a free plan’s own line: no accountant login on QuickBooks Free, no automatic bank import on Wave Starter, $50,000 of revenue on Zoho Books Free. Payment fees apply on every free plan.
Sources
- QuickBooks Online pricing (Intuit), US list prices and the Free plan’s limits, checked October 30, 2026
- QuickBooks Workforce payroll bundles (Intuit): Payroll with Simple Start $88 + $6.50 per employee, with Essentials $125 + $6.50, Premium with Plus $203 + $10, checked October 30, 2026
- QuickBooks Workforce payroll added to an existing plan (Intuit): Payroll $50 + $7 per employee, checked October 30, 2026
- QuickBooks Payments rates (Intuit), page says accurate as of September 18, 2026, checked October 30, 2026
- January 2026 product update: inventory on Simple Start and Essentials as a $40 a month add-on (Intuit, Firm of the Future), checked October 31, 2026
- Adding a separate company into QuickBooks Online: each company needs its own subscription (QuickBooks Team reply on the Intuit community, February 24, 2024), checked October 31, 2026
- QuickBooks Online pricing page (Intuit), Internet Archive copy of October 15, 2023: Essentials $60, Plus $90; checked October 31, 2026
- QuickBooks Online pricing page (Intuit), Internet Archive copy of October 16, 2025: Essentials $75, Plus $115; checked October 31, 2026
- Xero US pricing, plans, payroll and the auto-reconcile add-on, checked October 30, 2026
- Xero Early plan page, inventory among the features in every plan, checked October 30, 2026
- Xero stock and inventory, tracked at average cost, checked October 30, 2026
- Xero, pricing and fees for Stripe (US), checked October 30, 2026
- Xero US pricing update: new prices for new and existing US subscribers, and the multi-organization discount phased out, from October 1, 2026, Internet Archive copy of August 25, 2026; checked October 31, 2026
- Xero product ideas, consolidated reporting across organizations: Xero staff reply that it is not currently planned, July 23, 2025, checked October 31, 2026
- Syft Analytics in the Xero App Store, multi-entity consolidation, checked October 30, 2026
- Xero US pricing page, Internet Archive copy of October 27, 2023: Early $15, Growing $42, Established $78; checked October 31, 2026
- Xero US pricing page, Internet Archive copy of October 31, 2025: Early $25, Growing $55, Established $90; checked October 31, 2026
- FreshBooks pricing, plans, yearly billing at 10% off, team members, payroll and payment rates, checked October 30, 2026
- FreshBooks support, several businesses under one login, each with its own subscription, checked October 30, 2026
- FreshBooks pricing page, Internet Archive copy of October 30, 2023: Lite $17, Plus $30, Premium $55; checked October 31, 2026
- FreshBooks pricing page, Internet Archive copy of October 26, 2025: Lite $21, Plus $38, Premium $65; checked October 31, 2026
- Wave pricing, Starter and Pro, user roles, card fees, checked October 30, 2026
- Wave Payroll pricing, $40 a month + $6 per active employee + $6 per contractor paid, checked October 30, 2026
- Wave pricing page, Internet Archive copy of October 27, 2023: accounting, invoicing and banking at $0; checked October 31, 2026
- Wave pricing page, Internet Archive copy of October 21, 2025: Pro $19 a month; checked October 31, 2026
- Zoho Books US pricing, plans, users and the Free plan’s limits, checked October 30, 2026
- Zoho Payroll US pricing, checked October 30, 2026
- Zoho Books US pricing page, Internet Archive copy of October 2, 2023: Standard $15, Professional $40, billed yearly; checked October 31, 2026
- Zoho Books US pricing page, Internet Archive copy of October 14, 2025: Standard $15, Professional $40, billed yearly; checked October 31, 2026
- Digits pricing, plans and additional entities, checked October 30, 2026
- Digits pricing page, Internet Archive copy of November 11, 2025: Core $100; checked October 31, 2026
- Puzzle pricing, plans, seats, Core’s expense limit, multi-entity and payroll, checked October 30, 2026
- Gusto pricing, Simple $49 a month + $6 per person, from the Internet Archive copy of October 23, 2026 (Gusto’s live page blocks automated checks; the September 29, 2026 copy shows the same prices); checked October 31, 2026
- Stripe pricing, US card and ACH Direct Debit rates, checked October 30, 2026